2

The First Rare Job Orientation Program: Road to Greater Opportunities

Last April 25, I attended my first Rare Job tutor gathering. I had a lot of fun during that event, so I was already looking forward to attending the next TG in August (assuming it will be at a nearby location). However, I experienced another RJ event just last Saturday, May 23, at Max’s Restaurant in Robinson’s Metro East. It was the first RJ mini gathering that aimed to orient tutors within their first year of teaching. I was expecting around 20 participants based on the recipients of the invite via email, but we were only 6! I was the second tutor to arrive, and I was welcomed by Jules, Din, Flor, Paul, and our very hands-on CEO, Kato-san! Like the 23rd TG, Kato-san brought some Japanese snacks, which were quite yummy and such a treat to my sweet tooth! 🙂

Oishii! Love the customized ID lace as well! :)

Oishii Japanese snacks! Love the customized ID lace as well! 🙂

When all the participants arrived, lunch was served. Everything was covered from appetizers to dessert and coffee! The last time I ate at Max’s was in October or November 2014, so I ate a lot! Hahaha! Takaw much! :p We had spring rolls (or triangles), daing na bangus, liempo, kare-kare, shrimp sinigang, fried chicken (of course!), and buko pandan. For merienda, we had ensaymada (so cheesy!), plus unlimited coffee! I ate everything, but skipped the coffee because I already drink it at home, and I wouldn’t want to be addicted to it. 😀

IMG_2602

Itadakimasu! Omnomnom!

After our scrumptious lunch, it was time for the actual reason why we had the gathering. Jules of Tutor Support (if you’re an AM tutor, he’s usually the one who answers your queries via Skype) started the “magic ball” ice breaker, which was followed by a short opening speech by our beloved CEO. The highly energetic Paul and very fluent Flor then discussed managing our classes effectively, maximizing our earning potential, and improving our tutoring skills. The event was interactive and productive as all participants were given the chance to share their suggestions and experiences. Some of us even received green tea Kit Kat for answering!!!! Ahhh my favorite!! ❤

Our very hands-on CEO, Mr. Tomohisa Kato. :)

Our very hands-on CEO, Mr. Tomohisa Kato. 🙂

After all the presentations by the RJ staff, Kato-san asked each of us what we thought about the gathering or any final thoughts about it. All of us agreed that we learned a lot and our expanded knowledge will definitely help us improve our teaching skills. In addition, I was also more motivated to apply the things I learned, particularly the different types of error corrections. Since February, I have been a free trial lesson tutor, so there is an unspoken pressure to convince potential students to continue studying with RJ. It is a challenging task, but I know there’s still a lot of room for improvement, and this mini gathering encouraged me to do my best even more. 🙂

(null)_2

Thank you, Rare Job! Thank you, Max’s! 🙂

My complete loot! :)

My complete loot! 🙂

To cap off the event, we were given certificates, a Rare Job mug (yey! ’tis my second mug!), and even some sweet treats from Max’s! And of course, no matter how big or intimate an event is, it won’t be complete without taking group shots and selfies!!! 😀

Formal group shot. :)

Formal group shot. 🙂

Wacky! :p

Wacky! :p

Selfies! Upper left: with our CEO; upper right: with the super cool & funny Paul; lower left: with a UPIS batchmate's mom, Tita Irene! Lower right: with the very engaging Tita Carol and ever so friendly Jules!

Selfies! Upper left: with our CEO; upper right: with the super cool & funny Paul; lower left: with a UPIS batchmate’s mom, Tita Irene! Lower right: with the very engaging Tita Carol and ever so friendly Jules!

Among all the jobs I’ve had, I can definitely say that working as a Rare Job online English tutor is the best. Rare Job does not rest on its laurels as it continues to find ways of improving its system, and one of them is by reaching out to its diverse tutors from different parts of the Philippines. I appreciate this effort so much particularly because I am such an extrovert, and meeting my fellow tutors means having new friends & learning a variety of teaching strategies! 🙂 Suffice it to say, I LOVE MY JOB! 🙂 If you want to experience a fulfilling career or if you just want to earn extra, you can become a Rare Job tutor by clicking this: